Search Keverel Chess
Monthly Archive

Cotswold Congress Results

Phil Meade has just sent the prizelist for the recent Cotswold Congress, held over the Spring Bank Holiday weekend, which featured two notable successes for Exmouth players, namely Mark Abbott’s 3rd place in the Open against some fearsome opposition, and Dave Rogers’ clear 1st in the Major. Well done to them, and all the winners.

Here’s the full prizelist:


1st                Stephen Berry (Wimbledon)               5½

2nd            Chris Beaumont (Bristol & Clifton)    5

3rd=           Mark Abbott (Exmouth)                      4

                    Richard Jones (Swansea)                     4

                    Chris Purry (Frome)                             4

Grading      Geoff Taylor (Gloucester)                   3½

R1 Loser     Dominic Bennett (Bristol & Clifton)   3½

Best Lady   Lynda Roberts (Thornbury)                 1½ 

Major (U-160) 

1st                 David Rogers (Exmouth)                     5

2nd=            Carl Gartside (High Peak)                   4½

                     Megan Owens (Downend & Fishponds)   4½

                    Neil Tomkin (Kings Head)                  4½

Grading       Nigel Dicker (Glastonbury)                 4

                    Duncan Macarthur (Keynsham)          3½

R1 Loser     Mark Forknall (Cheltenham)               4

Best Junior  Oskar Hackner (Rotherham)               2½ 

Minor (U-120) 

1=               Kevin Bendall (Wotton Hall)               5

                   William Curry (Fareham)                     5

3=                Stephen Billett (Portsmouth)               4½

                    Gary Brown (Stroud)                           4½

                    Alan Fraser (Beckenham & Bromley)  4½

Grading       Michael Bolan (Ashtead)                     4

                    Chris Constable (Coulsdon)                 4

                    John Machin (Pudsey)                         3½

R1 Loser     Geoff Gammon (Downend & Fishponds)    3½

Best Junior  Matthew Claypole (Cheltenham)         3½

                    Kyle Reed (Hagley)                              3½

                    Thomas Thorpe (Bristol)                      3½

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.