Search Keverel Chess
Monthly Archive

Winter-Wood Tournament 2010

The Winter-Wood Tournament is a knockout competition run during the summer months, and is open to the Champions, or their Runners-Up, of clubs affiliated to DCCA. The prize is Devon’s most ornate and valuable trophy, donated by the widow of Thomas Winter-Wood of Brixton nr. Plymouth, he being a leading light in 19th century Devon chess.

The Winter-Wood Trophy

The new club champion, Mark Abbott, has accepted his right to play, this being the first time he’s taken part in it – a new experience for him.

The draw for Rd. 1 has just been sent out by the organiser, Stephen Schofield.

1. David Twine (Plymouth) vs Dominic Mackle or Trefor Thynne (Newton Abbot)

2. Brixham Champion vs Andy Dunn (Torquay)

3. Ivor Annetts (Tiverton) vs Alan Brusey (Teignmouth)

4. Graham Bolt or Dave Regis (Exeter) vs Mark Abbott (Exmouth).

It is hoped to have a winner by DCCA’s Autumn Meeting.

Mark is in a brilliant run of form, and is capable of beating any one of the other 7 qualifiers. Whether he can do it 3 times running remains to be seen.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.