Search Keverel Chess
Monthly Archive

Paignton Congress Day 7

The Paignton Congress has enjoyed some of the best weather of the summer which has put all players in a good mood. The favourite, Grandmaster Keith Arkell, won the Premier Section for the 18th time in his career, after the predictable short, safe draw in the final round. But there were many other prizewinners all the way down the order.

Premier: 1st K. Arkell 6/7 pts. 2nd= R. Bates (Hackney); D. Ledger (Bedford) & D. Mackle (N. Abbot) all 5 pts.

Challengers: 1st= C. Costello & A. Footner (Yeovil). 3rd= R. Thompson (N. Abbot) & Y. Tello (Wimbledon). Grading prizes: U-162: T. F. Thynne (5). U-155: A. Price (Leamington) 4½.

Best slow starters: A. Hibbitt (Grendel) & Jackson (Coulsdon) both 3½.

The key game in Arkell’s campaign was this Rd. 6 win, which allowed him to coast home with a short draw in the final round to become clear 1st and take home a cheque for £600. Notice how, as in Rd. 1 published last week, he makes full use of his bishop pair to force fatal weaknesses in Black’s position.

White: K. C. Arkell (234). Black: Zaki Harari. (193)

Queen’s Gambit Accepted. [D20]

1.d4 d5 2.c4 dxc4 3.e4 e5 4.Nf3 exd4 5.Qxd4 White is happy to exchange queens early on, keeping things simple and knowing his endgame technique will probably win the day. 5…Qxd4 6.Nxd4 Nf6 7.Nc3 a6 8.Bxc4 Bb4 9.f3 0–0 10.Bf4 b5 11.Be2 c5 12.Nc2 Bxc3+ 13.bxc3 Be6 14.Kf2 Nbd7 15.Rhc1 Nb6 16.Ne3 c4 17.Nc2 Na4 18.Nd4 Rac8 19.Bd1 Nc5 20.Bc2 Rfd8 21.Rd1 h6 22.Be3 Bd7 23.Rd2 Kf8 24.Rad1 Ke8 25.g4 Ng8 26.Nf5 Bxf5 27.gxf5 Rxd2+ 28.Rxd2 Nf6 29.e5 Nfd7 30.f4 Ke7 31.Kf3 Rc6 32.Rd1 making as if to move it to g1. 32…Rc7 33.Rd6 But no, the rook moves forward instead. 33…a5 34.a3 Rb7 35.Rc6 Nb3 36.Be4 Rb8 37.Bd5 a4 38.Rc7 Kd8 39.Ra7 f6 40.e6 1–0 The advanced pawn must win it.

Here is the full list of winners:-

Section   Winners Grd Club Pts/7
Premier 1st K. C. Arkell 2451 Paignton 6
  2nd= R. A. Bates 2376 Hackney
    D. J. Ledger 2262 Bedford
    D. Mackle 2227 Newton A.
    S. Berry 2325 Wimbledon
GP U-2110 1st= A. Crombleholme 2099 Bushbury
    D. Cutmore 2057 Wood Green
GP U-2040 1st= A. Pickersgill 2019 Eastbourne
    T. Spanton 1977 Hastings
    J. C. Wells 184 N. Norfolk
Slow starter 1st R. J. Webster 2088 Ashfield 3
Challengers 1st= C. Costello 166 Weisse Dame
    A. F. Footner 174 Yeovil
  3rd= R. Thompson 176 Newton A. 5
    Y. Tello 163 Wimbledon
GP U-162 1st T. F. Thynne 158 Newton A. 5
GP U-155 1st A. Price 154 Leamington
Slow starter 1st= A. Hibbitt  156 Bristol
    P. G. Jackson 163 Coulsdon
  1st M. Wilson 149 Wigston 6
  2nd P. Wood 139 Hastings
  3rd T. Greenaway 141 Torquay 5
GP U-137 1st R. Taylor 136 Ashfield
GP U-136 1st M. Ingram 126 Peterborough 4
Slow starter 1st N. F. Tidy 119 Torquay 4
Minor 1st= L. Bullock 113 Hackney
    A. Davison 117 King’s Head
    R. Hamilton 123 Metropolitan
GP U-114   Fay Ainscow 109 King’s head 4
    A. Doust 104 Marple 5
Slow starter   D. McGeeney 107 Bristol 4
American 1st= J. Hawkesley 171 Hull
    R. Westra 169 Hull
  3rd N. Dennis 167 Maidenhead
5 Rd. Morning 1st= A. F. Footner 174 Yeovil 4
    A. Hibbitt 156 Bristol
    R. Saunders    
    R. Gamble 172 Derby
    R. Thompson 176 Newton A.
GP U-155   M. A. Roberts 152 Holmes Chapel
GP U-136   L. Bullock 113 Hackney 3
Slow starters 1st= R. Piggott 137 Wantage
    R. H. Jones 130 Exmouth
    P. Smith 141 Hastings
    G. Rosser 127 Torquay
RapidPlay PM 1st= M. Henley    
    A. Archer-Lock 178 Maidenhead
  3rd= A. Brown 186 Norhtampton
    S. Burke 184 Ashfield
    C. Archer-Lock 177 Maidenhead

Access the games here ▼

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.